Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong

Languages

Subscribe Newsletter

Music Ministry

Children Choir1

Mission

Committed to the teachings of Christ, we focus on leading all members to become goodwill ambassadors by promoting musical knowledge and experience, practicing teamwork and enhancing comprehensive character and personality development through singing and a variety of music events.

Course Content

Integrating the world's most authoritative state-of-the-art Dalcroze, Kodaly, Karl Orff, and Suzuki teaching methods, we aim to strengthen children's musical knowledge by introducing the concept of pitch and rhythm, improving sight-singing-ability, cultivating musical sense, and nurturing emotional interpretation of music. Furthermore, we focus particularly on Phonics (sound foundation pedagogy) learning to enhance the comprehensive language skills of the members.

Performances and activities

We regularly organize performances at community centers, concert halls, schools, churches, and other public venues. Parents are invited to observe lessons while birthday party, music camps, and other activities are often held.

Fees

Annual fee of HK $3,300 (three installments of $1,100 each due in April, August and December)

Target group

Children 4-11 year-old, audition and interview required.

Rehearsals

Saturdays 2:30-4:00pm at Chapel and Resources Centre, 3/F, Administration Building, 23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong.

Application

Send the application form together with cheque to :

Christian Work Department -- YMCA Children's choir
3/F, Administration Building, 23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong.
(Application fee of HK $20 will be collected on the audition day)

Audition

The audition takes about 10-15 minutes. Please prepare a song of your choice. Audition date and time will be notified.

Inquiry

For inquires, please call during office hours (Monday to Friday from 9:00-6:00pm) 2783 3354 or email to cchoir@ymca.org.hk

Children Choir2

Instructors

Sacred Music Director --- Mr. Lau Wing Sang, Sanson

As our Sacred Music Director, Mr. Lau is also the Director of Hong Kong Baptist Theological Seminary and Arts Education Centre; the Music Director of Hosanna Chanters and MusiCall. He is often invited to conduct sacred music seminars, vocal and choral training. In additional , he is engaged in writing Cantonese lyrics for foreign music.

Conductor of intermediate group --- Ms. Choy Wai Ling, Elaine

The former Conductor of New York Rochester Chinese Christian Church Children's Choir, Christian Tsung Tsin Secondary School Choir, City University of Hong Kong Christian choir, Hong Kong Chinese Church of Christ Choir and Little Angels Choir. Ms. Choy graduated from the Music Department of the Hong Kong Baptist University, majoring in music education. While she was in America, she was involved in the summer choral conducting, vocal pedagogy and the Eastman School of Music Dalcroze Eurhythmics courses.

Conductor of primary group --- Ms. Lee Wai Lai, Sally

Ms. Lee received her Master of Music, majoring in children's music from the Hong Kong Baptist University with Merit result. Earlier on, she graduated from Kingston University with a Bachelor of Music with the "Outstanding Organ Recital Award". As a former primary school teacher, Ms. Lee has completed teacher's certificates at the Hong Kong Institute of Education and the Open University, where she was awarded the "Outstanding Teaching Award".

Served as the former instructor of Hong Kong Children's Choir, Conductor of Parsons Children's Choir, (Director-General) of Trinity Children's Choir, as well as the choral teacher of the Hong Kong Music Institute, Ms. Lee is currently the Conductor of Kowloon Ling Liang Church Heman Children's Choir and C.&MA Logos Church Choir. In recent years, she has also been involved in Kindergarten teachers training and served as an adjudicator at music competitions.

Children Choir3

Singing YMers1

Mission

Treating music as a gathering platform, we are involved in creative choral practices and a diversity of ministries like performances, training, camps, exchange, celebration, social interaction and publication. We hope to provide a basis for participants to experience spiritual fulfillment, enhance personal development, and carry out mission of spreading cultural traditions and participating in social services.

Ministry Activities

 

  • Organizing, co-organizing or accepting invitations to hold public performances.
  • Visiting local or cross-territorial missionaries, organization for performances, trainings, or cultural / artistic exchange.

 

Fees

Annual fee of HK $1,800 (three installments of HK$ 600)

Target group

18 years of age or above are welcomed to participate

Rehearsals

Monday :
7:30--9:15pm, Chapel, 3/F, Administration Building, 23 Waterloo Road, Hong Kong

Application

Please mail the application form together with the first installment and a photo to

Christian Work Department---Singing Ymers

3/F, Administration Building, 23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Please make the cheque payable to "Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong" with your name on the back.

download application form

Audition

The audition takes about 20-30 minutes. There will be a set piece to be performed (would be provided via email) and a song of your choice. Please prepare 3 copies of the music for yourself, the accompanist and the conductors. Audition date and time will be notified.

Inquiry

For inquiries, please call 2783-3357 during office hours (Monday to Friday from 9:00am to 6:00pm) or email to chorus@ymca.org.hk

Singing YMers2

Instructors

Sacred Music Director --- Mr. Lau Wing Sang, Sanson

As our Sacred Music Director, Mr. Lau is also the Director of Hong Kong Baptist Theological Seminary and Arts Education Centre; the Music Director of Hosanna Chanters and MusiCall. He is often invited to conduct sacred music seminars, vocal and choral training. In addition, he is engaged in writing Cantonese lyrics for foreign music.

Conductor --- Mr. Woo Wing Ching, Caleb

Being one of the YMCA music instructors, Mr. Woo is currently the Conductor of MusiCall Music Director of Tuen Mun Alliance Church, and the Conductor of the Hong Kong Chinese Church of Christ Choir and the Student Union of the Chinese University of Hong Kong Christian Choir. He was awarded a Master of Music in Voice Performance and Literature from the Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester, New York, Master of Arts in Christian Studies from the Chung Chi College of the Chinese University of Hong Kong Divinity School, and a Bachelor of Arts (First Honors majoring in Vocal Performance and Pedagogy) from the Hong Kong Baptist University. Furthermore, Mr. Woo holds the LRSM Diploma from the ABRSM.

Conductor --- Mr. Leong Mang Kit, Eric

Currently the Conductor of MusiCall, Praise U Christian Choir, and Tsung Tsin Christian Academy, Mr. Leong received his Bachelor of Arts in Music (majoring in Compostition) from Hong Kong Baptist University, and a Master of Arts in Christian Studies from Divinity School of Chung Chi College of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He also abtained the Violin Music Performance DipABRSM from the Royal Schools of Music. Mr Leong is passionate in literature and music. During his college years, he was inspired by the Choir Conductor Mr. Sanson Wing-sang Lau and began to engage in work of choral hymns translation into Cantonese.

Singing YMers3

香港中華基督教青年會

訂閱電子通訊

聖樂事工

青年會兒童合唱團1

宗旨

本於基督精神,以歌唱及各類音樂活動,使團員認識天地的創造主,增進音樂知識及經驗,學習群體合作,提昇品行,發展全面心智人格,成為音樂親善大使。

上課內容

團員透過頌唱讚美詩及獻唱曲目,學習基督信仰,揉合Dalcroze, Carl Orff等國際公認頂尖音樂教學法,增進團員音樂知識及經驗,幫助孩子培養全面音樂基礎。

演出及活動

定期於社區﹑音樂廳﹑學校﹑教會﹑公共場所獻演,並不時舉行家長觀課﹑生日會﹑音樂營等活動。

團費

年費港幣 $6,000 (分四期繳交,每期港幣 $1,500)

對象

4-11歲兒童,不需試音

練習時間及地點

逢星期六下午2:30-4:00於九龍窩打老道23號行政樓三樓 基督教事工部禮拜堂及資源中心

報名方法

報名請聯繫 2783-3354 葉先生 / 9547-3340 陳小姐。

查詢

如有任何查詢,請於辦公時間 (星期一至五 上午9時至下午6時) 致電 2783 3354 或電郵至 cchoir@ymca.org.hk

青少年兒童合唱團2

導師

聖樂總監---劉永生先生

本會聖樂總監。同時任香港浸信會神學院與藝術教育中心主任﹑浩聲讚祂詠團﹑教會樂圃音樂總監。不時應邀主領聖樂講座﹑聖樂主日講道﹑聲樂及合唱訓練;亦從事以粵音白話文為外國聖詠填詞。

中級組指揮---蔡慧玲女士

曾任美國紐約洲羅城華人基督教會兒童詩班﹑基督教崇真中學合唱團﹑香港城市大學基督徒詩班﹑香港華人基督會詩班及小天使歌詠團指揮。畢業於香港浸會大學音樂系,主修音樂教育。在留美期間曾參與伊士曼音樂學院暑期合唱指揮﹑聲樂教學法及Dalcroze Eurhythmics課程。

初級組指揮---李蔚麗女士

李蔚麗女士以優異 (Merit) 成績畢業於香港浸會大學,獲頒音樂碩士,主修兒童音樂;早年以[傑出管風琴演奏獎]畢業於英國京士頓大學,獲頒音樂學士學位。曾任小學教師,分別於香港教育學院及公開大學修畢教師文憑,獲公開大學頒[傑出教學獎]。

曾擔任香港兒童合唱團導師,柏斯兒童合唱團指揮﹑聖公會三一兒童合唱團總幹事﹑香港音樂專科學合唱科老師,現任九龍靈糧堂希幔兒童合唱團指揮﹑宣道會真道堂詩班指揮,近年更擔任幼師音樂培訓導師及音樂比賽評判。

青少年兒童合唱團3

青年會聖詠團表演1

宗旨

以音樂為凝聚點,透過獻演、訓練、營會、交流、節慶、聯誼、出版等多元事工,和具創意的團隊藝術實踐,使參與者靈性體驗滿足,促進個人成長,整體達成文化傳承、社區服務的使命,見證基督。

事工活動

  • 主辦、合辦或應邀公開獻演
  • 於本地或跨境探訪教會、學校、社團,作獻演、訓練或文化藝術交流

團費

年費港幣$2400(分四期繳交,每期$600)

對象

凡年滿十八歲或以上之人士均可報名參加

時間

逢星期一晚上7:30- 9:15於九龍窩打老道23號本會行政樓三樓禮拜堂

報名方法

請連同報名表、第一期團費支票及相片,寄回窩打老道23處行政樓三樓基督教事工部聖詠團收。支票抬頭為「香港中華基督教青年會」,背面請寫上姓名。

下載報名表

面試

面試需時20-30分鐘,一首指定曲目(將以電郵提供)及一首自選歌曲(請預備3份樂譜供伴奏及導師使用),面試日期及時間將有專人通知。

查詢

如有任何查詢請於辦公時間致電2783-3354 與本團項目統籌葉先生或吳小姐聯絡,亦可電郵chorus@ymca.org.hk

(星期一至五上午九時至下午六時)

青年會聖詠團表演2

導師團:

聖樂總監 劉永生先生

本會聖樂總監。同時任香港浸信會神學院崇拜與藝術教育中心主任、浩聲讚祂詠團、教會樂圃音樂總監。不時應邀主領聖樂講座、聖樂主日講道、聲樂及合唱訓練;亦從事以粵音白話文為外國聖詠填詞。

指揮 梁孟傑先生

現於教會樂圃樂團、傳音為理(香港理工大學)基督徒詩班及基督教崇真中學擔任指揮。已考獲英國皇家音樂學院小提琴演奏文憑,並獲取香港浸會大學音樂文學士(主修作曲)及香港中文大學崇基學院神學院基督教研究文學碩士學位;孟傑熱愛文字與音樂創作,大學時期受詩班指揮劉永生老師啟蒙,開始從事合唱聖詩粵詞翻譯工作

指揮 林思漢先生

現任教會樂圃樂團指揮、香港聖詩會事務發展委員會副主席、共鳴基督徒詩班藝術總監及指揮、香港中文大學基督徒詩班指揮。獲頒香港中文大學崇基神學院基督教研究文學碩士、香港浸會大學音樂系音樂碩士(主修合唱指揮)及一級榮譽學士(主修作曲)。林氏專注於廣東話聲樂作品之創作、編曲及演繹。

青年會聖詠團表演3